top of page

Finishing Well

In my last news update I mentioned that I have been looking for someone since January to take over and that I had been feeling like God was moving me out of Mexico by summer time. I didn’t know how He would make it all work, in blind faith I let go of my apartment and started packing up to go back to Aiken for the time being, fully trusting He would come through…..and come through He has :)

After months of praying, searching, interviewing different candidates, I am SO pleased to say that God has not only provided one but two Mexican ladies to take over! One is the doctor who had already agreed to be medically responsible for us. She felt the Lord leading her to retire from being a doctor and serve CREO more as “Medical Director”. It is so reassuring to know that she will be heading that up, and with her comes all her clients and connections! The other is a local pastor’s wife and she will be taking over all the other areas of running a pregnancy center which, is a LOT. She is so perfect for this position and I couldn’t think of a better person for the job and she will take this ministry farther than I ever could! I have been praying for this woman for over 2 ½ years even though I didn’t know who she was until two months ago. I had asked God to provide a local woman who had a heart for this kind of ministry but just didn’t know where to being. She had been praying for months to be involved in a ministry like this and now God has answered both our prayers. For 2 ½ years I knew she was out there and it is just so amazing to see God come through!


The last month there:

The entire month of June I spent in many many meetings and training our directors to make sure they know how everything operates. We were even able to hold two volunteer trainings taught by the director of the Aiken Pregnancy Center (Life Choices) via zoom! This was such a great time for the volunteers to meet the ladies who will be taking over and to get to know each other better and to share ideas. The training material was exactly what we needed and I’m so thankful to the Aiken Pregnancy Center for doing that. As hard as it was to let go, I know that CREO has been left in very good hands.


What comes next...

I am writing this newsletter in different airports as I travel from Mexico to SC for the last time and I’m not sure yet how I feel about that but what I do know without a doubt is that it was the right time. The last several trips back and forth from Mexico I’ve watched my luggage wheels start to deteriorate (leaving trails of broken off pieces in the airport halls) and I always wonder when they will stop rolling but they haven’t failed me yet. I’ve watched my duffle bag edges fray and start to get holes in it and every trip I worry it will rip and everything inside will fall out but every trip they have held up and made it one more time. After 11-12 years of this kind of travel my luggage is worn out, a great visual of how my body and heart have been feeling for a while now. God noticed it before I did and has been graciously holding me together, by His strength alone I was able to finish well. So I think this time of rest is needed but if you know me then you know resting is difficult.

What I don’t know is what is next. For the first time in over 10 years I have absolutely no “marching orders” from God at the moment. In the mean time He is leading me to a time of regrouping and digesting the last two years in Mexico. My family needs me at home for a little so I will be staying in the SC area. I have the wonderful opportunity to volunteer at the Aiken and Augusta pregnancy centers where I will be doing ultrasounds so the Pregnancy Center work will still be very much a part of my life which I am excited about. I am also looking into brushing up on my nursing skills by applying at Aiken Regional which I am honestly so thrilled about (a little scared too if I’m honest, it’s been a while!).


As this is a time of transition, I will be sure to keep you all updated as soon as I know more. I realize this is probably not what some of you were expecting so if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email or call me 803-640-1472. Any donations given past this point go into my missions account with HIM and will stay there until I venture out again.


Children's Book Update:

I was in Aiken briefly in May to pick up the last of the donations and other things that needed to be done. I was also privileged to speak about my children’s book at a school to over 100 kids and at a kid’s camp of over 100 as well! This is the reason the book was written, to encourage the younger generation to be missionaries wherever they are as missionaries encouraged me at that age. I never dreamed I would be the “missionary on stage” and it was strange to be in that position but also very humbling and beautiful. I have heard several amazing testimonies from people old and young who have been touched by reading the book and every time I am amazed all over again at how God is using it. It was all His idea and I am blessed to be able to see just a tiny bit of the fruits! If anyone would like me to come talk about the book/my missionary experiences at their bible group, church, school, camp, anywhere, I am more than willing to travel and come and share what God has done!


Many times a day I am struck with the thought that I am unworthy of this work and I’ve been so thankful He has included me in it. I am just a sinner in need of his grace and mercy every moment of everyday. I make mistakes, I fail, I say things I regret, the list goes on. But we can’t let those things stop us from doing what He has asked us to do. If something in your past is holding you back, saying you are unworthy, or saying you’re better off sitting on the side lines….don’t listen to it. God has so much grace and is just waiting for opportunities to work in and through us, to redeem those things in our past we think are unredeemable. Where ever you are, this world needs you now more than ever.




RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page