top of page

Brilla Life; What We Do

Here is a little update on things we do when we are not working in the pregnancy center. The Brilla Life team (Ben and Susie Argil and Alicia Revell) are absolutely amazing and it is such an honor and blessing to work beside them. They have such a heart for reaching the community here with Gods love!

Classes:

As I said before, Brilla Life have been offering classes (art, English, guitar, and more) to the community for the last year in the same building the pregnancy center is. They have 5 weeks of lessons and 2 weeks off, then they get a new group of kids (and some of the ones from previous classes) and start another 5 weeks. As I have been painting and playing worship music in the pregnancy center on the first floor these last couple months, it has been so fun on Tuesdays and Thursdays to hear the English lessons happening on the second floor, and hear the strums of beginner guitarists on the third floor. The building is so full of life and Jesus, it is WONDERFUL! There have been so many touched with the love of God in these lessons and some who have decided to start a relationship with Him.

Our next 5 weeks of lessons starts THIS Tuesday (March 23) and I am looking forward to it because I am now joining the ranks of classes! Once they found out I used to be a piano teacher, Ben and Susie immediately put my name out there for teaching lessons. There have been five who have signed up and I am SO excited to start teaching again, I have really missed it! Please be praying for me, as I try to conduct these in Spanish (yikes!) and share with each of them how loved they are by God and how to have a relationship with Him.


Village Outreach:

We also do a village outreach every other week where Susie and Alicia will have a bible story time for the kiddies and Ben will have a lesson for the adults. Ben has added guitar lessons and a carpentry teaching class for some of the men in the village as well. Please be praying for men to come consistently and invite more! The adults love coming to me for their "check up" (mainly vital signs and blood sugar). I love this one on one time I get with them, we have fun laughing over my horrible Spanish and getting to know each other best we can. A young mother had started to join the meetings and this last time we went I was able to use the ultrasound machine for the very first time! All her female family relatives and her husband crammed into the small room with Alicia and I (Alicia has been my amazingly patient translator!) as we looked at the baby. Everyone was SO excited!


Trainings FOR Brilla Life:

The Brilla Life team has just finished a 6 week course called “New Hope Trauma Healing”. This is a program designed to help people process traumatic things that may have happened to them. It is used in refugee camps with HUGE success. Every lesson points to Christ/gospel and many have come to receive Him through these lessons. We were so honored that a sweet missionary couple took the time every week to zoom call and train us in this method. We will be using it in the pregnancy center and possibly training our volunteers in it. Such a helpful resource!

Susie and I will also be able to attend a zoom 3 day conference at the end of April with heartbeat international Ministries (an organization that supports thousands of pregnancy crisis centers). The information we receive from this training will be very valuable for us! Thank you for your donations that make this possible!

I was also able to attend a zoom YWAM healthcare Seminar online August 2020. Most of the speakers were medical professionals who have been doing medical missions for years. I took tons of notes which have been extremely helpful in this process of opening the center! I was so blessed to be able to attend and I got to see a lot of familiar faces as it was out of the same YWAM base I did my midwife school at in Perth back in 2017-2018.

Thank the Lord for zoom!

Prayer Requests:

1. Pray that the number of students in our classes would grow as word spreads in the community and that the children would take what they learn home about Jesus to reach their family as well.

2. Please continue to pray for my Spanish, especially as I dive into teaching piano lessons and opening the pregnancy center soon!

3. Please pray for the conference in April, that Susie and I would glean lots of helpful wisdom from it.

4. Please pray for the village outreach, that more families (especially men) would come and when they do that God would touch their hearts.


Thank you for your prayers and support!



RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page